Secondary School

Learning in Years 7 to 9 follows the National Curriculum for England, through a rigorous, specialist-taught curriculum. From Year 10, students embark on the two-year programme for iGCSE, resulting in recognised formal qualification across a wide range of subjects. Years 12 and 13 will follow an A level programme, offering students a choice of subjects and approaches. The flexibility of our approach provides students with a choice of subjects and approaches to suit their individual educational backgrounds and career aspirations.

Middle School / Key Stage 3 (Year 7-9)

When students enter Year 7, they have a form tutor and specialist subject-teachers. Students are taught in mixed ability groups for some subjects but in ability sets for others such as mathematics, science, English and Amharic /Afan Oromo. Even within ability-grouped classes, teachers will provide differentiated instruction, resources, or materials to match work students’ different needs. 

Lessons take place in specialist areas, so students generally move from their home base to the specialist rooms. Having specialist rooms enables teachers to create lively, subject-specific environments with resources conveniently located and accessible. All classrooms have access to interactive white boards, computers and relevant artifacts, posters, and resources for the subject.

Within Key Stage 3, the level of depth within the specialisms increases because the students have developed key dispositions and made decisions about their selection of knowledge and its connection to the real-world. There is a greater focus on independent learning and enquiry and the development of the learners’ disposition to ‘learn how to learn’ is prioritized across all subjects as this is critical to each child’s preparation for more in-depth learning at Key Stage 4.

Subjects studied in Primary: Mathematics, English, Science, Information Technology, Amharic or Afan Oromo, French, History, Geography, Art, Music, Physical Education and Learn Together.

High School / Key Stage 4 and Key Stage 5

Cambridge Academy Ethiopia offers an iGCSE programme accredited by Pearson Edexcel. Curriculum option choices at the end of Key Stage 3 (Year 9) and at the end of Key Stage 4 (Year 11) offer a breadth and balance of arts, sciences, languages and humanities and cater to university and national equivalency requirements. Students are be expected to study all three sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) at iGCSE. It is vital that a student leaves Cambridge Academy Ethiopia with all the necessary attributes, qualities, and qualifications to further their opportunities in life. This supports the school’s vision in preparing confident students, not only for Ethiopian society, but also for an increasingly competitive international context. 

At Key Stage 4, all learners are expected to work independently to ensure they have the depth and breadth of subject knowledge required for their examinations. Group and research tasks supplement class work.

During Key Stage 4 (Years 10-11) the majority of Cambridge Academy Ethiopia students will study 8 IGCSE subjects: English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology and optional subjects, which include History and/or Geography and French

GCSEs (General Certificates of Secondary Education) are the main qualifications taken by 14- to 16-year-olds in the UK and have been used as a benchmark to judge student ability for more than 25 years. They are also available to British international schools, as are iGCSEs (International GCSEs), their international equivalents.

The two main awarding bodies for GCSEs and iGCSEs are Pearson Edexcel and Cambridge Assessment International Education. iGCSEs are linear qualifications, meaning that students take all the exams at the end of the course. Both sets of qualifications are widely recognised by higher education institutions and employers around the world as evidence of academic ability and provide a very good foundation for Key Stage 5 (Years 12-13) studies. When considering which examination board to work with we were most impressed by Pearson Edexcel and we truly believe their units of study provide our students with the best opportunity for success.

Until recently iGCSEs were graded using the A*-G scale, with A* being the highest grade. Due to recent changes to curricula and assessment in the UK and abroad, a new suite of more demanding iGCSEs has been developed, with the aim of providing students with better skills towards their further academic studies. These new iGCSEs are assessed using a numerical scale 9-1, with 9 being the highest grade.

Subject Selection

Compulsory Subjects include:

  • English Language 
  • Mathematics
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics

Students must also choose between 3 and 5 subjects from the following options:

Humanities subjects offered are:

  • Geography
  • History

Language subjects offered are:

  • French

Other subjects offered are:

  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Business Studies
  • Art & Design

The running of any course depends upon the number of students opting for the subject and the constraints of the timetable.

In addition to their iGCSE courses, students also participate in PE, IT, Amharic /Afan Oromo & Learn Together. Although these areas are not examined, they form a vital part of our curriculum.

The school does not currently offer a Key Stage 5 curriculum – this will become available in the academic year 2023-4.

Registration in Progress - We have Limited Spaces Available

1st day of School - Wednesday August 24,2022